Barnwell Parish Council has 7 elected councillors and an electorate of about 336. The Council meet bi-monthly, usually on the third Tuesday of the month, at the Village Hall at 8pm. See more details about Parish Council meetings via the 'parish council meetings' tab. 

Our current Parish Councillors are:-

Mrs Heather Hanlon (Parish Council Chair & Parish Council Representative of the Trustees of Parson Latham's Hospital)

Mr Graham Wise

Mr Nick Bould (Parish Council Representitive of The Friends of Barnwell Country Park)

Mr David Brown (Parish Council Vice-Chair)

Mr Geoff Shacklock

Mr Chris Soans

Parish Councillor's Register of Interests link: http://www.east-northamptonshire.gov.uk/site/scripts/documents_info.php?documentID=1420&pageNumber=1

Clerk to the Parish Council - Mrs Nicki Phillips

You can contact the Parish Council via the 'contacts' tab, or by phoning the Clerk on 07562372430.


Parish Council Responsibilities - it can be confusing to know which council is responsible for what services in the village.

Parish and town councils are part of local government in Northamptonshire together with Northamptonshire County Council and East Northants District Council. Each is responsible for different things.

The Parish Council is responsible for - for streetlighting, the bus shelter, allotments, the provision of litter and dog fouling bins, seats and benches, the village noticeboard, the telephone kiosk, and some tree maintainance.

The District Council is responsible for local services including housing, local planning, environmental health and refuse collections.

The County Council is responsible for strategic services such as highways, education, libraries, social services, strategic planning and refuse disposal.

Highway problems - if you wish to report problems such as potholes, overgrown verges, or problems with footpaths, you can report on line using this link:- http://www.northamptonshire.gov.uk/streetdoctor



Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement